~Persian Love Poems~

Poem #1- Nasibj Gilani
Today, separated from my love, I am
Without companion, sweetheart and friend, I am
The one who did not sleep on the darkness of night, I am
In short, entangled in every sorrow, I am.

Poem #2- Khaju Kirmani
I had vowed never to give my heart to anyone again.
But what should I do? Once more I am caught in a passion.
My sigh at dawn will stop the morning breeze.
When one night I let out a sigh at the top of your lane.

These two poems show the developing love between Pasha and Zari. Pasha’s feelings are exemplified in the first poem by Nasibj Gilani. When Pasha first realized how deep his love for Zari truly was, he felt lost whenever he was not around her. When he went several weeks without seeing her during the disappearance of a Doctor, his heart ached to be in her company and he felt anxious from the absence of her presence. The second poem, by Khaju Kirmani, connects to the emotions of Zari first beginning her confusing love with Pasha. She feels guilty because she knows that she is supposed to be completely in love with her fiancé, Doctor, but is beginning to develop feelings for Pasha as their summer moves forward. Zari is afraid to show her emotions because it will go against tradition and change her entire life. Her life has been on a specific plan and schedule since her birth, and she knows disrupting it would end in chaos.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started